This pavilion was built in 1365 in the late Goryeo Dynasty(the 14th year of king Gongmin) and rebuilt and repaired 8 times. The pavilion is located on the southern cliff of Jinjuseong(or Namjangdae) facing Namgang River. It is made of 5 kan in the front and 4 kan in the side with an octagonal tile(Giwa) roof. This pavilion was also called Jujangdae, Namjangdae or Jangwonry as it was used as the commending post of the used as the commending post of the general, as it is located in the south of the castle or as it was used as an examination place to pick up the local government officials.
There are differents stories handed down about who first built Chokseongnu. They say Kim Jung Gwang of the Goryeo Dynasty built it
Chokseongnu is admitted as the first pavilion in Yeongnam and one of the three pavilions in Korea with its artistic value. Standing majestically on the precipice of Namgang River, Chokseongnu still boasts of its beauty as the first pavilion in Yeongnam.